Riem, Andi

A Cedar Rapids native, Andi received her BA in Psychology from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and holds a JD from University of St. Thomas School of Law where she graduated magna cum laude. She shifted careers in 2018, and joined New Leader Manufacturing, where she is currently the Executive Director of Shared Services. Andi has […]

Young, Shekinah

Headshot of Shekinah Young

Shekinah holds a BA from Drake University, and a Masters of Strategic Communication from the University of Iowa. Along with receiving several awards from Des Moines area programs, she is co-founder and Vice Chair of Back 2 School Iowa, a nonprofit organization committed to empowering underprivileged youth in Des Moines. To date they have served […]

Wahls, Zach

Headshot of Zach Wahls

Zach is a senator in the Iowa state legislature, representing District 37 at the state capitol in Des Moines. He is an advocate for LGBTQ rights, and co-founder of Scouts for Equality which led the national campaign to end discrimination in the Boy Scouts of America. His testimony before the Iowa House Judiciary Committee about […]

Wagler, Shanell

Headshot of Shannell Wagler

Shanell is a lifelong Iowan and was first introduced to the Foundation through her work as an Administrator of Early Childhood Iowa—the state’s early childhood systems building initiative. Shanell provides extensive leadership in supporting the state’s quality rating system for childcare environments, offering her expertise to strengthen partnerships that promote quality programming. She is also […]

Swanson, Dr. Elizabeth

Headshot of Liz Swanson

Liz currently serves as Board member, Chair of the Development Committee, and Chair of the Legacy Campaign for IWF. While she may not be an Iowa native, she’s a Hawkeye through-and-through. Liz holds a bachelor’s degree in Nursing, a Master of Science degree in Nursing and a Doctorate (PhD) in Student Development and Personnel—all from […]

Rust, David

Headshot of David Rust

David is a member of the Board and Grants Committee for IWF. He and his wife are long-time supporters of the Foundation—passionate about supporting grantees who lead the way with quality, innovative, inclusive, exemplary programs. Since the first grade, David has called Iowa his home. He holds a degree from University of Northern Iowa and […]

Rierson, Anne

Headshot of Anne Rierson

Anne currently serves as the Chair of the Board and as a member of the Grants Committee for IWF. She was first introduced to the Foundation while implementing a grant program focused on supporting women and girls at Frontier Co-op. Anne earned her degree from American University in Washington D.C., where she worked for several […]

Myers, Brenda

Headshot of Brenda Meyers

Brenda serves on the Grants and Marketing Committees for IWF, and currently works as the Director of Marketing, Communications, and Advocacy for Lutheran Services in Iowa. She has spent much of her career in public relations and marketing for nonprofit organizations—including Four Oaks in Cedar Rapids. Brenda graduated from Baker University with a degree in […]

Miller, Jaimie

Headshot of Jaimie Miller

Jaimie Miller is a resident of West Des Moines, where she lives with her husband and two children. She has been recognized as a Forty under 40 Leader by the Des Moines Business Record and was a finalist for the Des Moines Young Professional of the Year Award in 2016 and 2017. Jaimie received her […]

Kunkel, Julie

Headshot of Julie Kunkel

Julie is Vice President and Treasury Management Officer at Two Rivers Bank and Trust. Her career in banking began as a teller in Iowa City after she began her studies at the University of Iowa. Growing up, Julie did not have any female role models when it came to building a career. For this reason, […]