Book and roseTo launch the publication of IWF’s inaugural edition of Ovation: A Tribute to Iowa Women and Girls and to honor the 119 remarkable women profiled in that edition, a surprise reception was held on May 12, 2014 at Celebration Farm near Solon.  Joined by an audience of friends and family, each of the honored women received a wrapped copy of the book and a yellow rose.

Said Dawn Oliver Wiand, Executive Director of IWF, of the event, “We are thrilled that many people took the opportunity to recognize so many deserving women across Iowa. Ovation’s honorees are from all walks of life. From University Presidents to board executives, from small business owners to stay – at –home moms, from gardeners to political activists and many volunteers – these women have dedicated themselves to making a difference and are so deserving of recognition.”

Lists of the honorees and the publication’s sponsors follow below.

Ovation: A Tribute to Iowa Women and Girls is an annual publication of the Iowa Women’s Foundation, which both serves as a simple and elegant way to honor remarkable women in the state and as an important source of fundraising for the Foundation.  For more information, please contact  To submit a tribute or support the publication as a sponsor, please visit our Ovation contribution page.


Receiving books Reading book Honorees Group photo Dawn, Stephanie, Liz Cover of book


Event Sponsors

Presenting Sponsors

U.S. Bank



Editor Sponsor

MidwestOne Bank


Associate Sponsor

Hills Bank and Trust Company


Friend Sponsor



List of Honorees

Jacque Andrew

Dee Baird

Suzanne Parrish Bartlett, M.D.

Lorrie Bell

Jackie Blank

Gilda Boyer

Kay Braverman

Rosalie Braverman

Lydia Brown

Ellen Buchanan

Kitty Coen Buckwalter

Linda Bywater

Crissy Canganelli

Cedar Valley Chicks for Change

Lijun Lin Chadima

Karen Hubenthal Chappell

Ying Ying Chen

Chrysalis Foundation

Brenda Clancy

Stephanie Clohesy

Lisa Coester, M.D.

Sue Curry

Alice Dahle

Elizabeth Daly

Betty DeBerg

Denise Denton

Suzy DeWolf

Susan Drake

Madgetta T. Dungy, PhD

Michelle Durand-Adams

Relda Dwyer

Kathy Eno

Kathy Etscheidt

Geraldene Felton

Kim Franks

Helen Carlin Frye

Betty Jean Furgerson

Mary Gantz

Katrina Garner

Vickie L. Ginsberg

Christine H.B.  Grant

Anne Gruenewald

Laurie M. Hamen, JD

Lynn Hartman

Nancy Hauserman

Kate Hawkins

Kay Hegarty

Amy Henderson

Anne Hennessey

Kay Shive Henry

Robyn Hepker

Cheryl Hines

IWF Early Trailblazers

LaDonna Jacobson

Jean Jew, M.D.

Jo Lavera Jones

Jill June

Nancy Kasparek

Kimberly K. Kazimour, PhD

Korlin Kazimour, BS, MBA, MLA

Bev Kotowske

Mary Lea Kruse

Carmen Lagaspi

Christine Landa

Norma Leibold

Vicki Lensing

Ruth Meyer Lerdal

Joan Liffring-Zug Bourret

Jean Lloyd-Jones

Patti Frye Lounsbury

Nancy Lowenberg

Cindy Lyness

Lynette Marshall

Janet Martin

Kären Mason

Sally Mason

Liz Mathis

Lura McBride

Jane McCune

Della McGrath

Lori Meyer

MidWestOne Bank

Kenlyn Miller

Kate Minette

Cheryle Mitvalsky

Katherine Moyers

Jill Olsen

Maureen Kler Osako

Anne Parmley

Mary Ann Peters

Doris Bogen Preucil

Mary Quass

Shannon Ramsay

Diane Ramsey

Amy L. Reasner

Betsy Rippentrop

Rockwell Collins Women’s Forum

Rotary District 6000

Darlene Schmidt

Carol Scott-Conner, M.D.

Susan Shullaw

Shuttleworth Women

Sisters of Mercy

Libby Gotschall Slappey

Lisa Slattery

MaraBeth Soneson

Susie Steit

Shelly Strellner

Joyce Summerwill

Elizabeth Swanson

Carolyn Thies

Margaret “Maggie” Ner Tinsman

Jean Trainor

Transamerica STEM Women Leaders

UnityPoint Health-Cedar Rapids

Dee Vandeventer

Monica Vernon

Marcia Wegman

Carolyn Wellso

Natasha Wendt

Peggy Boyle Whitworth

Women at HR Green

Women of Cedar Rapids Metro Economic Alliance